My Modelling Career Starts Here!

I had my first, true, official photoshoot the other day. I was pretty nervous and apprehensive. I mean, so far all I’ve done is one, two-hour boudoir shoot. This was going to be on location for six hours. So many unknowns and what ifs. I didn’t know the place we were going, I’ve never met the photographer before, I’ve never shot on location before, what if the photographer’s a bastard, what if anxiety takes over and I just freeze, what if they think I’m rubbish, will my outfit work, will they regret agreeing to work with me, WILL I PULL THIS OFF?! But I was determined to just go for it and not to let the nerves get the better of me.

So at 9am, The Car and The Photographer arrived. Walking up to the car and saying that initial “hello” was so nerve-wracking, but luckily The Photographer was a lovely guy and made me feel immediately at ease. It turned out our location for the day was to be a beautiful arboretum in the Irish countryside. It was picture perfect. Literally.

We got to work straight away, and the initial stiltedness soon faded away and I really got into it. I’m naturally shy and hate being the centre of attention, yet, for some reason, when I’m modelling I’m not shy at all. I’m not confident in poses and expressions, but I gave it my all, and followed direction best I could. I had a few ideas of my own, some of which we implemented, some we didn’t, and I even took control of the shoot a few times, which was extremely liberating, if not slightly terrifying!

I had expected that we’d take maybe 400 shots, but in the end we came away with just over 1,000! I think that’s the sign of a good shoot! Of course there are plenty in there that are unusable, but I was still braced for disappointment as this is all so new to me and I am still learning how to hold my body in order to get a good end result. However, I was pleasantly surprised. There are a good chunk of photos that I’m very pleased with and proud of. It’s actually pretty addictive and I’m already chomping at the bit for my next shoot!

I’m not doing the modelling for money, it’s all about getting stuck in and giving myself a confidence boost. It certainly did that, alright; I spent the rest of the day buzzing and feeling super confident & sexy! But more than anything, I hope my modelling inspires others to embrace their individual beauty and let it shine.

11667525_1589446537988136_8960236069460169921_n

2 thoughts on “My Modelling Career Starts Here!

Leave a Reply

