Glorifying Humanity

Obesity seems to be the new thing that ‘experts’ are jumping on, and this in bringing out the ‘oh but I’m concerned about your health’ in EVERYONE. Don’t do that. Don’t be an arse.

It also really annoys me that it has become the fashionable thing to say fat people are ‘glorifying obesity’. In fact, it infuriates and upsets me.

First, generations of fat people have had to endure constant mockery, criticism, rejection and disrespect. And now, now people are finally feeling brave enough to love themselves for who they are, despite every man and his dog telling them how awful they are, now we get people condemning us for that too. Unless you are eating right and exercising right all of the time, you must hide away and be beaten with the Shame Stick until you make a change. It’s ridiculous that fat people are only seen as acceptable if they lose ‘inspirational’ amounts of weight, or are taking steps to do so. Duck off.

Stop making an example out of us too. We don’t need anyone to point out the amount of calories in the meal we’re about to eat, or the healthier options we could have chosen. You are not the health police and you do not need to be analysing what we eat, and definitely do not need to pass comment or judgment. How about I point out that third cup of coffee you’re about to have, or the copious amount of alcohol you downed at the weekend, or that unused gym membership you wasted your money on? We can all make healthier choices, but that doesn’t necessarily mean we are unhealthy. I’m sure putting us down and criticising our every move makes you feel better about the imperfections in your life, but please, mind your own ducking business and leave us to it.

Judgments and comments are completely uncalled for and just make a person feel bad unnecessarily. And as I’ve said many times before, making someone feel bad about themselves is about the least caring and constructive thing you can possibly do. So stop justifying your bullshit by saying you’re concerned for our health. It’s not concern; it’s being a pompous, righteous jerk, thinly veiled as concern.

In the brilliant words of JK Rowling:

“Is ‘fat’ really the worst thing a human being can be? Is ‘fat’ worse than ‘vindictive’, ‘jealous’, ‘shallow’, ‘vain’, ‘boring’ or ‘cruel’? Not to me.”

Not to me either.

We can all make changes AT ANY SIZE, we can all be healthy AT ANY SIZE, and more importantly, we can all be happy AT ANY SIZE. So let people just BE.

Embracing ourselves, shunning the negativity, learning to feel comfortable in our own skin, isn’t glorifying anything other than self acceptance and unconditional love. It’s a really powerful, positive movement that should be applauded, not admonished.

8 thoughts on “Glorifying Humanity

  1. “It’s ridiculous that fat people are only seen as acceptable if they lose ‘inspirational’ amounts of weight, or are taking steps to do so. Duck off.” I think this it the key to the entire situation: we will never be accepted when a society has picked what it deems acceptable: thin, perfect teeth, hair and tasteful fashion. If you don’t look like their “normal” you need to hit the gym, see a dentist and while you’re at it, a couple trips to a plastic surgeon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. When I was training as a nurse the definition of health we learned was from the World Health Organization – “a complete state of physical, mental and social well-being, and not merely the absence of disease or infirmity.” The majority of people under that definition are unhealthy, weight is only one small fraction of an individuals health. The current media vilification of fat people crippling the health services reminds me of a poster that was on the wall of the first ward I worked on – on older lady in a hospital bed with the slogan “I am not a bed-blocker”. Back then older people were being blamed for crippling the health services because they lived too long. Find a group to point the finger out that society has no respect for and then no-one will look to the politicians and managers that have mismanaged the health services for years.

    Like

    1. You’re right that there will always be something, and I guess there is some comfort in that knowing that, in essence, this will be a passing phase, but such vilification does so much unecessary damage. Sigh.

      Like

  3. That JK Rowling quote is one of my faves.
    This post is great, you’re so right, the amount of times I’ve heard “I’m worried about your health” (mostly from my overweight, diabetic, alcoholic mother…) is insane! She’s also told me that I’m more likely to find love if I lose weight!
    I am trying to lose weight, for my health and my vanity, but I’m doing it for me, and in the process I’m trying to learn to love myself too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s so frustrating. Weight and size aren’t everything, and certainly shouldn’t be what we base a person’s validation on. As you are, losing weight should be a personal choice, not because you feel unworthy if you don’t. I really hope attitudes start changing, and fast! xx

      Like

    2. My mother told me the same thing when I was home from college one summer. Crushed me. I still remember that conversation. Good for you doing what you think is right for yourself, and because you want to do it for yourself not for anyone else. Get it girl!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

